History and make-up of the
Nuclear Suppliers Group

[Forty-five technologically-advanced countries
with the ability to transfer equipment and/or
special knowledge capable of being applied to
the production of nuclear fuel, nuclear weapons,
or advanced weapons delivery systems]

From: http://www.nuclearsuppliersgroup.org/history.htm


September 6, 2008

The NSG was created following the explosion in 1974 of a nuclear device by a non-nuclear-weapon State [
India], which demonstrated that nuclear technology transferred for peaceful purposes could be misused.

The NSG Guidelines were published in 1978 as IAEA Document INFCIRC/254 (subsequently amended), to apply to nuclear transfers for peaceful purposes to help ensure that such transfers would not be diverted to unsafeguarded nuclear fuel cycle or nuclear explosive activities.

At the 1990 NPT Review Conference, a number of recommendations were made by the committee reviewing the implementation of Article III, which had a significant impact on the NSG's activities in the 1990s.

In 1992, the NSG decided to establish Guidelines for transfers of nuclear-related dual-use equipment, material and technology (items which have both nuclear and non-nuclear applications) which could make a significant contribution to an unsafeguarded nuclear fuel cycle or nuclear explosive activity. These Dual-Use Guidelines were published as Part 2 of INFCIRC/254, and the original Guidelines published in 1978 became Part 1 of INFCIRC/254.

The endorsement at the 1995 NPT Review and Extension Conference (NPTREC) of the full-scope Safeguards policy already adopted by the NSG in 1992 clearly reflects the conviction of the international community that this nuclear supply policy is a vital element to promote shared nuclear non-proliferation commitments and obligations.

Participating Governments prepared a comprehensive information paper on the NSG for the 2000 NPT Review Conference. This was disseminated as IAEA document INFCIRC/539/Rev. 1 (Corr.) of November 2000 under the title “The NSG: Its Origins, Roles and Activities”. 


Forty-five NSG nations as of the
August-September 2008 meetings
on the U.S.-India nuclear
technology sharing agreement:

Argentina, Australia, Austria, Belarus, Belgium, Brazil, Bulgaria, Canada, China, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Kazakhstan, Republic of Korea, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Russian Federation, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Africa, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, Ukraine, United Kingdom, and United States and the EC as an observer.